Arlington High School Building Committee Meeting Tuesday, August 25, 2020 Conducted via Remote Participation 6:00 pm

Present:	Jeff Thielman, School Committee Representative, Chair Kathleen Bodie, Superintendent, Co-vice chair Adam Chapdelaine, Town Manager, Co-vice chair Kirsi Allison-Ampe, School Committee Representative Francis Callahan, Community Member Representative (<i>absent</i>) John Cole, Chair, Permanent Town Building Committee (<i>absent</i>) Tobey Jackson, Community Member Representative (<i>absent</i>) Matthew Janger, AHS Principal Ryan Katofsky, Community Member Representative Brett Lambert, PTBC Representative (<i>absent</i>) Kate Loosian, Community Member Representative (<i>absent</i>) Michael Mason APS Chief Financial Officer William McCarthy, AHS Assistant Principal Judson Pierce, Community Member Sandy Pooler, Deputy Town Manager Paul Raia, Disabilities Commission Representative (<i>absent</i>) Brian Rehrig, Capital Planning Committee Member Amy Speare, Community Member Representative Shannon Knuth, Teacher Representative Kent Werst, Teacher Representative

Also present:Jim Burrows, Victoria Clifford, Sy Nguyen, Skanska Inc.
Lori Cowles, Melissa Greene, Arthur Duffy, HMFH Architects, Inc.
John LaMarre, Todd McCabe, Consigli Construction

Call to order: 6:00 pm

Chair of the Committee, Jeff Thielman, opened the meeting conducted by remote participation as outlined in Governor Baker's order suspending certain provisions of the open meeting law on March 12, 2020, and explained the procedure on taking votes.

Mill Street Traffic Signal Alternate Discussion

Jim Burrows explained that at the last meeting the committee voted the Mill Street traffic signal as a # 2 alternate. The design work for the Mill Street Traffic Light has been on hold until TAC made a recommendation. There has been no decision or recommendation from TAC to date. Since the traffic light was accepted as an alternate at the last meeting, it needs to be designed, so we may need to approve monies to approve the design work, or we may want to vote to take it off the alternate list and add it as a change order during Phase 4. The fee for the design is \$45,540.00.

On a motion by Sandy Pooler seconded by Brain Rehrig it was: Voted to approve the traffic light design fee of \$45,540.00 and to have it remain as an alternate. Roll Call: Jeff Thielman -yes Kathleen Bodie -yes Adam Chapdelaine-yes Kirsi Allison-Ampe-yes Matthew Janger -yes Rvan Katofsky-no Brett Lambert - yes Kate Loosian -yes Michael Mason – yes William McCarthy - yes Sandy Pooler -yes Brian Rehrig -yes Amy Speare -yes Voted in the affirmative 12, opposed 1, abstained 0, absent 5.

Vote MSBA 90% CD Submittal

MSBA would not reimburse funds for the design.

Jim Burrows reported that the 90% CD would be submitted electronically on Thursday to MSBA barring any edits from the Committee.

On a motion by Adam Chapdelaine seconded by Kathleen Bodie it was:

Voted to approve the 90% CD Submission and to direct the OPM to submit the 90% CD Submission to the MSBA on behalf of the Arlington High School Building Committee Roll Call: Jeff Thielman -ves Kathleen Bodie -yes Adam Chapdelaine-yes Kirsi Allison-Ampe-yes Matthew Janger -ves Ryan Katofsky-yes Brett Lambert - yes Kate Loosian -yes Michael Mason -yes William McCarthy - yes Sandy Pooler -yes Brian Rehrig -yes Amy Speare -yes Voted in the affirmative 13, opposed 0, abstained 0, absent 5.

Meeting Schedule

- No meeting on September 1
- Next meeting October 6
- November meeting to be scheduled.
- 100% construction documents will be submitted to MSBA in November

New Business

Ryan Katofsky reported that the energy model is showing an EUI (energy use intensity) of 29 kBtu/sqft-yr, due in part to how the design team has refined building usage after hours. This is an excellent result, especially given the switch from ground-source heat pumps to rooftop air-source heat pumps. The current building has an EUI of about 65.

On a motion by Ryan Katofsky seconded by Adam Chapdelaine it was: Voted to adjourn at 6:45 p.m. Roll Call: Unanimous

Submitted by: Karen Tassone Recording Secretary AHS Building Committee Ktassone@arlington.k12.ma.us