

Town of Arlington, Massachusetts 730 Massachusetts Ave., Arlington, MA 02476 Phone: 781-316-3000

webmaster@town.arlington.ma.us

SC Organizational minutes 4-11-2006

ARLINGTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING TUESDAY, APRIL 11, 2006 7:00 PM

Present: Susan Lovelace, Suzanne Owayda, Paul Schlichtman, Sue Sheffler, Jeff Thielman, Martin Thrope, and Supt.

Levenson,

Call to Order: 7:00 pm

Acting Chair Martin Thrope announced that the purpose of the meeting was solely to elect officers of the SchoolCommittee for

the coming year. He then declared the meeting open to nominations for the Office of Chair.

Election of Chairman

On a motion by Paul Schlichtman, seconded by Jeff Thielman it was Moved that Ms Sheffler be nominated for the office of Chair.

There being no other nominations for the office of chair Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Chair. So moved by Paul Schlichtman seconded by Suzanne Owayda it was voted unanimously to close nominations for the office of chair.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee, Mr. Thrope declared Sue Sheffler Chair of the Arlington School Committee for 2006-2007 school year.

Election of Vice-Chair

On a motion by Suzanne Owayda seconded by Jeff Thielman it was Moved that Susan Lovelace be nominated for the office of Vice-Chair.

There being no other nominations for the office of vice chair Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chair. So Moved by Paul Schlichtman seconded by Suzanne Owayda and voted unanimously to close nominations for the office of vice chair.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee Mr. Thrope declared Susan Lovelace Vice-Chair of the Arlington School Committee for 2006-2007 school year.

Election of Secretary

On a motion by Suzanne Owayda and seconded by Sue Sheffler it was Moved that Paul Schlichtman be nominated for the office of Secretary.

There being no other nominations for the office of secretary Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Secretary. So Moved by Susan Lovelace second by Suzanne Owayda and voted unanimously to close nominations for the secretary.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee Mr. Thrope declared Paul Schlichtman Secretary of the Arlington School Committee for 2006-2007 school year. There being no further business under the policies of the Organizational Meeting, it was moved by Jeff Thielman seconded by Sue Sheffler and unanimously voted to adjourn at 7:05 pm.

Submitted by Karen Tassone Committee Secretary