

Town of Arlington, Massachusetts 730 Massachusetts Ave., Arlington, MA 02476 Phone: 781-316-3000

webmaster@town.arlington.ma.us

School Committee Minutes Organizational Mtg. 04/12/2005

ARLINGTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING TUESDAY, APRIL 12, 2005 7:00 PM

Present: Sean Garballey, Susan Lovelace, Suzanne Owayda, Paul Schlichtman, Sue Sheffler, Jeff Thielman, Martin Thrope

Supt. Donovan, Asst. Supt. Joanne Gurry, CFO Rob Addelson, Special Education Director Marilyn Bisbicos

Call to Order: 7:10 PM

Acting Chair Martin Thrope announced that the purpose of the meeting was solely to elect officers of the School Committee for the coming year. He then declared the meeting open to nominations for the Office of Chair.

Election of Chairman

On a motion by Ms. Owayda and seconded by Mr. Garballey it was Moved that Mr. Thielman nominated for the office of Chair.

There being no other nominations for the office of chair Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Chair. So moved by Mr. Schlichtman, seconded and voted unanimously to close nominations for the office of chair.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee, Mr. Thrope declared Jeff Thielman Chair of the Arlington School Committee for 2005-2006 school year.

Election of Vice-Chair

On a motion by Mr. Schlichtman seconded by Mr. Thielman it was Moved that Sue Sheffler be nominated for the office of Vice-Chair.

There being no other nominations for the office of vice chair Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Vice Chair. So Moved by Ms. Owayda, second by Ms. Lovelace and voted unanimously to close nominations for the office of vice chair.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee Mr.. Thrope declared Sue Sheffler Vice-Chair of the Arlington School Committee for 2005-2006 school year.

Election of Secretary

On a motion by Mr. Thielman and seconded by Mr. Garballey it was

Moved that Suzanne Owayda be nominated for the office of Secretary.

There being no other nominations for the office of secretary Mr. Thrope requested a motion to close the nominations for the office of Secretary. So Moved by Mr. Schlichtman, second by Ms. Lovelace and voted unanimously to close nominations for the secretary.

On a unanimous vote by the Committee Mr. Thrope declared Suzanne Owayda Secretary of the Arlington School Committee for 2005-2006 school year.

There being no further business under the policies of the Organizational Meeting, it was moved by Mr. Schlichtman seconded by Ms. Owayda and unanimously voted to adjourn at 7:05 pm

Submitted by Karen Tassone Committee Secretary