

Town of Arlington Office of the Town Manager

Adam W. Chapdelaine Town Manager 730 Massachusetts Avenue
Arlington MA 02476-4908
Phone (781) 316-3010
Fax (78l) 316-3019
E-mail: achapdelaine@town.arlington.ma.us
Website: www.arlingtonma.gov

November 29, 2021

Secretary Kathleen A. Theoharides Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs 100 Cambridge Street, Suite 900 Boston, MA 02114

Dear Madame Secretary,

The undersigned represent chief executive/administrative officers of Massachusetts cities and towns deeply engaged in the battle against climate change. We strongly support the Commonwealth's commitment to achieve net zero emissions by 2050 as well as the interim goals required by this year's "Next Generation Roadmap for Massachusetts Climate Policy." This and more has to be done. Fires in California, floods in Germany, and record June temperatures at home remind us of the urgency of our situation. As the recent IPCC report on Climate Change in 2021 shows, we are now well past the 11th hour.

The Next Generation Roadmap legislation signed by the Governor in March requires DOER to develop a specialized stretch energy code that includes net-zero building performance standards and a definition of a net-zero building. The statute lays out an ambitious process of public engagement as the Department develops the required code. We welcome the opportunity to participate in this process.

At the outset, we strongly believe that both the statute and practical reality call for a true net zero stretch code. The specialized stretch code is optional. No municipality is required to adopt it, and not everyone will. But for the towns and cities ready to lead the way, the stretch code promulgated by DOER must be strong enough to get the job done. Nothing less than net zero will suffice. The municipalities that opt in are eager to be the Commonwealth's test kitchen. They need bold policies to test.

A true net zero stretch code must cover all residential and commercial buildings. It must foster high performance building envelopes, such as those contemplated by Passive House standards. It must promote electrification, and at the very least provide the municipalities who opt in with clear authority to prohibit on-site combustion in new buildings and major rehabilitation. Moreover, since time is of the essence, any phase-in period must be short and supported by clear and convincing evidence.

There are many ways of reaching our goal and that of the statute. We welcome the chance to engage in discussion about means. As local governments, we understand the importance of pragmatism. It is essential, however, that the path chosen leads to the right destination.

We appreciate your enthusiasm and professionalism and that of your staff. We hope that the process you are beginning will result in a code that will maintain Massachusetts's place as a national leader in the fight against global warming. Other jurisdictions, including California and the District of Columbia, have moved decisively in this direction, and we do not wish the Commonwealth to be left behind. We strongly support the process that is unfolding and look forward to providing any assistance we can.

Respectfully,

Adam Chapdelaine Arlington Town Manager

Paul Bockelman Amherst Town Manager

Patrice Garvin Belmont Town Administrator

Louis DePasquale Cambridge City Manager

Thomas Ambrosino Chelsea City Manager

Travis Ahern Holliston Town Administrator

Mayor Gary Christenson City of Malden

Mayor Breanna Lungo-Koehn City of Medford

Jennifer Wolowicz Monson Town Administrator John Mangiaratti Acton Town Manager

Michael Herbert Ashland Town Manager

Mel Kleckner Brookline Town Administrator

Stephen Crane Concord Town Manager

Mayor Yvonne Spicer City of Framingham

James Malloy Lexington Town Manager

Gregory Federspiel Manchester Town Administrator

Mayor Paul Brodeur City of Melrose

Mayor Ruthanne Fuller City of Newton Mayor David Narkewicz City of Northampton

Andrew Maclean Pepperell Town Administrator

Henry Hayes Sudbury Town Manager

Darrin Tangeman Truro Town Manager

Michael Driscoll Watertown Town Manager

Leon Gaumond Weston Town Manager Tony Mazzucco Norwood Town Manager

Mayor Joseph Curtatone City of Somerville

Sean Fitzgerald Swampscott Town Administrator

Stephen Maio Wakefield Town Administrator

Meghan Jop Wellesley Executive Director

Beth Rudolph Winchester Town Manager