

Officers

February 10, 2024

President

Christopher Leich

Charles Tirone, Chair Conservation Commission

Vice President Clarissa Rowe Town of Arlington

concomm@town.arlington.ma.us

Clerk

Ann LeRoyer

Dear Mr. Tirone,

Treasurer

John F. Page

Directors Nellie Aikenhead Peter Belknap Lolly Bennett Nora Frank Carol Kowalski Bancroft Poor

Advisory Board

Ted Siegan

Cindy Friedman Sean Garballey Cathy Garnett Jay Kaufman Kevin Knobloch Anne Paulsen Dave Rogers

The Arlington Land Trust strongly endorses the recommendations contained in Scott Horsley's letters of November 13, 2023 and February 9, 2024 regarding the proposed Thorndike Place project, and his presentation to the Commission on February 1, 2024. As Mr. Horsley has explained, it is imperative for groundwater levels at the project site to be measured accurately, and for mounding effects to be correctly modeled, in accordance with the requirements of the Massachusetts DEP Stormwater Handbook.

The haphazard data provided by the Applicant so far do not provide a reason to believe that any adequate stormwater management system can be designed for this project, let alone that the design provided by the Applicant will work. In the absence of an adequate stormwater system, the adjacent wetlands will be adversely affected, and the proposed "conservation parcel" severely damaged, in contravention of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act.

We urge the Commission to require the Applicant to follow the procedures outlined by Mr. Horsley now, over the course of this coming March, April, and May, and to closely monitor the Applicant's compliance with these procedures through the involvement of the Town or its agents. An issue so central to the viability of the whole project should not be left to a later date.

Thank you for your continued close examination of this controversial project.

Very truly yours,

Arlington Land Trust, Inc.

(husdap M. Lid

Christopher M. Leich

President

cc: James Feeney

Christian Klein

Claire Ricker

Michael Cunningham, Esq.

Sen. Cindy Friedman

Rep. Dave Rogers

Rep. Sean Garballey