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TAXPAYER’S GUIDE TO LOCAL PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS

SENIORS
SURVIVING SPOUSES

MINOR CHILDREN (OF DECEASED PARENT)
Clauses 17, 17C, 17C%, 17D

The Department of Revenue (DOR) has created this fact sheet to provide general information
about local property tax exemptions for seniors, surviving spouses and minor children of a
deceased parent. It is not designed to address all questions or issues and does not change
any provision of the Massachusetts General Laws. To find out about the specific eligibility
and application requirements in your city or town, you must contact your local board of
assessors. The DOR cannot determine your eligibility or give you legal advice. Property taxes are
assessed and collected by cities and towns, not by the DOR. Under state law, only your board of
assessors, as the local tax administrator, can decide whether you qualify for an exemption. If you
disagree with its decision, you may appeal to the state Appellate Tax Board (or county
commissioners if your county’s government has not been abolished).

INTRODUCTION

Cities and towns may give property tax exemptions to some individuals as defined by state law. An
exemption discharges the taxpayer from the legal obligation to pay all or a portion of the tax
assessed for the fiscal year. Exemptions are found in various clauses of Massachusetts General
Laws Chapter 59, Section 5 (M.G.L. c. 59, § 5).

Clauses 17, 17C, 17C% or 17D provide partial exemptions to (1) seniors, (2) surviving spouses,
and (3) minor children with a deceased parent, who meet specific ownership, occupancy and asset
requirements. Seniors 70 or older may, alternatively, qualify for an exemption under Clauses 41,
41B, 41C or 41C%, which provide a higher benefit, but have stricter eligibility requirements. Clause
17 is the basic exemption for the three categories of taxpayers. Over the years, as asset values
rose, the Legislature enacted alternative exemptions (Clauses 17C, 17C% and 17D), and options
within those exemptions, that cities and towns may adopt.

Clause 17 applies unless the legislative body of your city or town has voted, subject to local
charter, to accept another clause. The most recently accepted clause establishes the eligibility
rules in your city or town.

EXEMPTION $175 $227.50 in Arlington

AMOUNT The amount may be increased annually up to the percentage increase
in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), as determined by the DOR each
year. This increase applies only if the legislative body of your city or
town has voted, subject to local charter, to accept this local option.

For more information, please contact your local assessors. Arlington Assessors: (781) 316-3050


http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleIX/Chapter59/Section5
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Local Property Tax Exemptions for Seniors, Surviving Spouses, Minor Children Rev. 11/2016

APPLICATIONS You must file an application for each fiscal year with the assessors in
the city or town where your property is located. The application is due
on April 1, or three months after the actual tax bills are mailed,
whichever is later. Filing on time is required. By law, the
assessors may not waive this filing deadline, nor act on a late
application, for any reason. Filing an application does not entitle
you to delay your tax payment.

DOCUMENTATION You must provide the assessors with whatever information is
reasonably required to establish eligibility. This information may
include, but is not limited to:

1. Birth certificates.
2. Evidence of ownership, domicile and occupancy.
3. Bank and other asset account statements.

NUMBER OF With limited exceptions, you may only receive one exemption under
EXEMPTIONS M.G.L. c. 59, 8 5 for each fiscal year. If you qualify for more than one,
you will receive the one that provides the greatest benefit. You may
receive an exemption and if qualified, defer all or a part of the balance
of the reduced tax.

ELIGIBILITY You must satisfy tests relating to age or status, domicile, ownership
REQUIREMENTS and assets. You must meet all eligibility requirements as of July 1
of the tax year. (The fiscal year of cities and towns begins July 1 and
ends the following June 30.) If you do not meet all requirements as
of July 1, you cannot receive all or any portion of the exemption
for that tax year.

AGE AND STATUS You must be 70 or older to be a senior.

You must be younger than 18 to be a minor child.

You must have been married to the decedent at the time of his or her
death, and have never remarried, to be a surviving spouse.

OWNERSHIP AND You must own and occupy the property as your domicile. Your
DOMICILE domicile is where your principal and legal home is located, your
family, social, civic and economic life is centered and you plan to
return whenever you are away. You may have more than one
residence, but only one domicile. If you are a senior, you must also
have owned and occupied the property for any 10 years (Clauses 17,
17C or 17C%) or any 5 years (Clause 17D).

1. Your ownership interest must be worth at least $2,000. You may
own this interest solely, as a joint owner or as a tenant in common.
2. If you hold a life estate in the domicile, you are the owner.
3. If your domicile is held in a trust, you are the owner only if:
a. You are a trustee or co-trustee of that trust, and
b. You have a sufficient beneficial interest in the domicile.

For more information, please contact your local assessors. Arlington Assessors (781) 316-3050 2
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Local Property Tax Exemptions for Seniors, Surviving Spouses, Minor Children Rev. 11/2016

ASSET LIMITS

For Arlington
allowable estate

Your assets (whole estate) on July 1 cannot exceed a specified limit.
Each clause has a different limit.

Whole estate means all assets to which you have legal title and
access as sole, joint owner or trustee that contribute to your
total worth. The value of your cemetery plots, wearing apparel and
household furniture and effects located in your domicile is not
included in the calculation of your whole estate.

In addition, depending on the clause, some of the value of your
domicile and the unpaid mortgage balance is not included, but the
part of your domicile over a certain number of units may be included.

Your allowable whole estate can range from $20,000 (Clause 17) to

is $40,000 $40,000 (Clauses 17C, 17C% and 17D). It may increase annually by
the percentage increase in the CPI determined by the DOR each
year. This increase applies only if the legislative body of your city or
town has voted, subject to local charter, to accept this local option.
EXEMPTION If the assessors decide you are eligible and grant an exemption, the
CREDIT amount granted is credited toward and reduces the tax outstanding on
your domicile for the fiscal year. You will not receive a refund unless
you have already paid the entire year’s tax, as reduced by the
exemption, at the time the exemption is granted and applied.
SALE OF If you are selling your domicile, you should make your attorney aware
DOMICILE that you receive a property tax exemption that reduces the tax owed

for the fiscal year. The sale is a private financial transaction and as a
party, you are responsible for seeing that the exemption is
properly credited at the closing, through escrow or other
arrangements, when the parties make adjustments for local
property taxes or charges. Your city or town is not responsible for
seeing that you and the buyer allocate the property taxes so you get
the benefit of the exemption.

APPEALS

Appellate Tax
Board

The Appellate Tax Board (ATB) is an independent, quasi-judicial state
board that hears taxpayer appeals from local assessors’ decisions on
property tax abatements and exemptions. If county government has
not been abolished, appeals may be made to the county
commissioners instead, but assessors may and usually do transfer
those appeals to the ATB. ATB decisions may be appealed to the
Appeals Court and, ultimately, to the Supreme Judicial Court.

You can obtain the ATB’s guide to the property tax appeal process
from its website (www.mass.gov/atb) or by calling 617-727-3100.

For more information, please contact your local assessors. Arlington Assessors: (781) 316-3050 3
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Local Property Tax Exemptions for Seniors, Surviving Spouses, Minor Children Rev. 11/2016

Appeal of Action You have three months from the date of the assessors’ decision on
of Assessors your exemption application to appeal to the ATB. This includes
decisions to deny any exemption or to grant an exemption that
provides a lesser benefit. If the application was deemed denied,
your appeal must be filed within three months of the deemed denied
date. As a general rule, if the real estate tax on your domicile is
over $5,000, you must also have paid all preliminary and actual tax
installments on time for the ATB to hear your appeal.

The assessors may grant the exemption or higher exemption in final
settlement of your application during the three month period for filing
an appeal. In that case, you do not have to have filed an appeal with
the ATB. However, if a settlement is not reached and an exemption
not granted during that period, you must have filed your appeal by the
deadline. If not, the ATB cannot hear the appeal.

ASSESSMENT AND EXEMPTION CALENDAR

January 1 Property Tax Assessment Date for Next Fiscal Year
July 1 Fiscal Year Begins

Real Estate Exemption Eligibility Date for Fiscal Year
October - Actual Tax Bills Mailed for Fiscal Year
December
November 1 (Semi- | 1% Actual Tax Installment Payment Due *

annual Payment
Communities)

February 1
(Quarterly Payment
Communities)

April 1, or 3 Personal Exemption Applications to Assessors Due ?
Calendar Months
from Mailing of
Actual Tax Bill if
later

! Contact your assessors. The due date depends on the payment system used in your community
and the date actual tax bills were mailed for fiscal year.

> Some assessors may accept applications before actual tax bills are mailed. If not, or your
application is not approved, you must apply by this deadline to claim the exemption.

For more information, please contact your local assessors. Arlington Assessors: (781) 316-3050 4
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Local Property Tax Exemptions for Seniors, Surviving Spouses, Minor Children Rev. 11/2016

3 Calendar Months Assessors Grant or Deny Exemption

from Filing of Application Deemed Denied if Assessors Have Not Acted
Application (or Date
of Written Extension
Given by Taxpayer)

3 Calendar Months Appeal to ATB Due
from Assessors’
Action on
Application, or
Deemed Denial of
Application

For more information, please contact your local assessors. Arlington Assessors: (781) 316-3050 5
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OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF ASSESSORS
: Robbins Memorial Town Hall
730 Massachusetts Ave. Arlington, MA 02476
P.781.316.3050 email: assessors@town.arlington.ma.us

ARLINGTON www.arlingtonma.gov
MASSACHUSETTS

Senior or Surviving Spouse Exemption with optional CPA
Clause 17D

Qualifications

® Applicant must own and occupy home as their domicile as of July 1, 2024

Applicant must have owned and occupied home as primary residence for 5 years.
Applicant filing as a Senior must be 70 or older on or before July 1, 2024.

Applicant filing as a Surviving Spouse must have been a widow/widower as of July 1, 2024.
Properties held in Trust; applicant must be a trustee and have a beneficial interest.
Applicant’s assets' must not exceed $40,000.

There is no income guideline for this exemption, however, if you'd like to be considered for the
Community Preservation Act (CPA) surcharge exemption; your Income? would be limited, see
chart on page 2 for details.

Instructions

® A new application is required each year.
® Please complete this application with the same accuracy as you would your income tax return.

® The 2025 application filing deadline is APRIL 1, 2025. This deadline cannot be extended or
waived by the Board of Assessors for any reason. It is best to apply as early as possible.

] New applicants filing as a Senior, must include a copy of a driver’s license, birth certificate or
passport for proof of age.

] New applicants filing as a Surviving Spouse, must provide copy of death certificate.

[ Provide statements of all assets listed in ASSETS section of application. Statements should
state values as of July 1, 2024

O if you would like to be considered for the CPA surcharge exemption; please provide copy of
your 2023 Federal Income Tax Return and supporting schedules®.

O if your home is held in a Trust, please provide a copy of the most current Trust document and
amendments, including any schedules. (If you have not previously provided them)

[ Be sure to sign and date your application.

] Submit your application to the Office of the Board of Assessors via mail, drop box (located in

parking lot adjacent to Town Hall) or in person. You will be contacted by mail if additional
documentation is required.

*
If you do not file a Federal Income Tax Return, please contact the Assessors’ Office.

Continue to page 2 =
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Senior or Surviving Spouse Exemption with optional CPA
Clause 17D

Income limits for CPA surcharge exemption

Household Annual Income Limit for CPA Exemption
Size Senior Household Type: Non-Senior Household Type:
Property Owned by Senior (60+) | Property Owned by Non-Senior (<60)
I 1 $104,230 $83,384 I
I 2 $119,120 $95,296 I
3 $134,010 $107.208
4 $148,900 $119.120
3) $160,812 $128,650
6 $172,724 $138.179
7 $184,636 $147.709
8 $196,548 $157.238

These income limits are adjusted for household size and are based on the 2024
area median income published by HUD.

- Assets (whole estate) means all assets to which you have legal title and access to as sole, joint owner
or trustee that contribute to your total worth. Assets include but are not limited to; checking and
savings accounts, CDs, stocks, bonds, IRAs, 401K, other retirement holdings and real estate holdings,
other than primary residence.

2 Income (gross receipts) means income from all sources and is broader than taxable income for federal
or state income tax purposes. Income includes but is not limited to; salary, wages, social security,
rental income, interest, dividends, distributions, pensions, veterans and all other retirement benefits.



OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF ASSESSORS
Robbins Memorial Town Hall
730 Massachusetts Ave., Arlington, MA 02476
P: 781.316.3050 email assessors@town.arlington.ma.us
www.arlingtonma.gov

ARLINGTON

MASSACHUSETTS . o e .
Senior (70+), Surviving Spouse or Minor

2025 APPLICATION FOR STATUTORY EXEMPTION
Clause 17D with optional CPA M.G.L. Chapter 59 § 5
This application is not open to public inspection.

FILING PROCEDURE- See instructions

The 2025 filing deadline is April 1, 2025
It is best to file as early as possible, even if you do not have all the required documentation.
You will be contacted by mail regarding any additional documentation needed to process your application.
The deadline cannot be extended or waived by the Board of Assessors for any reason.
Applications received after April 1, 2025, will be deemed denied.

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Include applicant, spouse, co-owner(s) of the home as of July 1, 2024

Name Relationship to Date of Birth
First, Middle Initial, Last Applicant MM/DD/YYYY
APPLICANT

Applicant
Address

Street Address Town State Zip Code
Applicant
Contact

Information Home Phone Mobile Phone E-mail Address

Contact Person,
other than
above (optional)

| give my permission to release information

to the above-named individual Relationship Phone Number of Contact Person

EXEMPTION STATUS: Check ONE only & complete corresponding section.

When applying for the
first time, attach a copy of
SURVIVING SPOUSE Deceased Spouse’s Name Date of Death the death certificate
Have you remarried? YES NO If yes, date of remarriage
D SENIOR 70 OR OLDER Whe:n applying for the first time, attach a copy of birth
Date of Birth _MM/DD/YYYY certificate
[] MNORWITH DECEASED When applying for the first
PARENT tlme., .attach copy of death
Deceased Parent’s Name Date of Death certificate.

Is the ownership of the property in a trust as of July 1, 2024? YES NO

If yes, please include Declaration of Trust and all schedules, unless you previously provided them

Have you applied for or been granted a real estate exemption in any other city or town, in Massachusetts or any other
State, for this year? YES NO

If yes, Name of City/Town & State Amount exempted

Continue to next page =
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TOTAL ASSETS

Enter account balances, as of July 1, 2024, for all assets. All Assets require proof, see documentation listed below.

Assets (Use account balance/ . . Applicant
D mentation R ir her Co-owner
Actual Value as of 7/1/2024) ocumentation Required & Spouse (if applicable) Other Co-owne
Checking Account $ $
Savings Account All Pages of Bank $ $
Statements as of
Money Market Account July 1, 2024 $ $
Certificate of Deposit (CD) $ $
IRA(s) & 401K(s) & 403B $ $
401K(s), 403B & 457B $ $
Brokerage Annuity or Mutual AIISPages of ACCOL;nt $ $
Fund Accounts tatements as o
Stocks or Savings Bonds July 1, 2024 $ $
(Attach List)
Business Accounts $ $
Real Estate Property (other Assessment/ mortgage $ $
than the home you live in) statement
Other Miscellaneous Assets (specify). Include any property/
asset outside of the U.S. (include assessments, financial $ $
statements

GROSS COMBINED INCOME

Complete Income section below to be considered for Community Preservation (CPA) Surcharge exemption.
Otherwise skip to signature section.

Indicate Income amounts for applicant, spouse and/or another co-owner. Income should be total amount received for 2023.
Each income source requires proof. Please enclose copy of 2023 Federal Income Tax Return, including all schedules

Gross Income (Use Actual
Amounts from Calendar 2023)

Documentation Required

Applicant & Spouse (if
applicable)

Other Co-Owner(s)

Wages, Salaries, Tips and

. Federal Tax Ret
other Compensation ederal fax ketum
Interest Federal Tax Return
Dividends Federal Tax Return

IRA distributions & Retirement
Distributions (401K, 403B)

Federal Tax Return

Pensions & Annuities

Federal Tax Return

Social Security/SSI Benefits

Federal Tax Return

Veterans Disability Benefits

Benefit letter from 2023

Net Profits from Rental Income

Schedule E of Federal Tax Return

Unemployment Compensation

Federal Tax Return

Capital Gains

Schedule D of Federal Tax Return

Gambling Winnings

Federal Tax Return

TOTALS

h | P | D | P | | A | P | P | A | B | A | P

h | P | P | P | L | R | PR | A | L | R | R | R

Continue to next page =




SIGNATURE: Sign to complete application

This application has been prepared and examined by me. Under the pains and penalties of perjury, | declare that to the
best of my knowledge and belief, this application and all accompanying documents and statements are true, correct, and
complete. | also understand that failure to cooperate with any review of my eligibility may cause the application to be
denied.

Applicant Signature Date Spouse/Co-Owner Signature (if living in the home) Date

Completed on behalf of Applicant by Relationship Signature Date

TAXPAYER INFORMATION ABOUT PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS. You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on your domicile if you
meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under Massachusetts law. Qualifications vary, but
generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability, income, or assets.

You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:

e [ egally blind person e Surviving spouse

¢ Veteran with a service-connected disability ® Minor child of a deceased parent
e Surviving spouse of service member, national guard
member or veteran who died from active-duty injury or
illness

e Senior citizen aged 70 and older
(65 and older by local option)

Please note only one of the exemptions above are allowed each year, choose the one that provides the maximum
benefit for you. Any of the above may be combined with Senior property tax deferral and/or Community
Preservation Act (CPA) Surcharge Exemption.

More detailed information about the qualifications for each exemption may be obtained from your Board of Assessors.

WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION. You may file an application if you meet all qualifications for a personal exemption as
of July 1. You may also apply if you are the personal representative of the estate, or trustee under the will, of a person
who qualified for a personal exemption on July 1.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the Assessors’ Office on or
before April 1, or 3 months after the actual tax bills were mailed for the fiscal year, whichever is later. An application is
filed when (1) received by the Assessors’ Office on or before the filing deadline, or (2) mailed by United States mail, first
class postage prepaid, to the proper address of the Assessors’ Office, on or before the filing deadline, as shown by a
postmark made by the United States Postal Service. This deadline cannot be extended or waived by The Board of
Assessors or any staff of the Assessors’ Office, for any reason. If your application is not timely filed, you lose all rights to
an exemption and the Assessors cannot by law grant to one.

PAYMENT OF TAX. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases, you must pay all
preliminary and actual installments of the tax when due to appeal the Board of Assessors' disposition of your application.
Failure to pay the tax when due may also subject you to interest charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights
or additional charges, you should pay the tax as assessed. If an exemption is granted and you have paid the entire year's
tax, you will receive a refund of any overpayment.

ASSESSORS DECISION. Upon applying for an exemption, you may be required to provide the Board of Assessors with
further information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. The Board of Assessors has 3 months from
the date your application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing before that period expires to extend it for a specific
time. If the Board of Assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied.
You will be notified in writing whether and exemption has been granted or denied.

APPEAL. You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if applicable, the County
Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the Board of Assessors acted on your application,
or the date your application was deemed denied, whichever is applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with
further information about the appeal procedure and deadline.
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